What Is Seven?

What is Seven?DOWNLOAD_BUTTON.001

This project is designed for churches to engage one another in during the 2014 Lenten Season (Easter). Each week will center on a theme based from the 7 final statements of Jesus while He was on the cross. There are devotionals for personal, family, and corporate gatherings.

What are the seven themes?

Seven short sayings. No one would really even think twice about them in normal situations. But this wasn’t a normal situation. And this wasn’t a normal man. These were spoken by Jesus…on the cross…while he was dying. In these words, we see his humanity and his divinity. We see physical pain, abandonment, and the reminder that God’s ways are not our ways.

Jesus uses common words like “forgive, disciple, son, today, thirst” and that most crucial question “why?”.  These words give us a
glimpse of the mysterious, beautiful, and heart-wrenching love of God.  His costly love for you and for me.

The Seven Final Statements of Study

  • Statement 1 – Forgiveness – Jesus said, “Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing.”  – Luke 23:34
  • Statement 2 – Redemption – Jesus answered him, “I tell you the truth, today you will be with me in paradise.”  – Luke 23:43
  • Statement 3 – Compassion – …He said to his mother, “Dear woman, here is your son,” and to the disciple, “Here is your mother.”  – John 19:26-27
  • Statement 4 – Sacrifice – Jesus cried out in a loud voice, “Eloi, Eloi, lama sabachthani?” which means, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”  – Matthew 27:46
  • Statement 5 – Thirst – Jesus said, “I am thirsty.”  – John 19:28
  • Statement 6 – Freedom – Jesus said, “It is finished.” – John 19:30
  • Statement 7 – Obedience – Jesus called out with a loud voice, “Father, into your hands I commit my spirit.”  – Luke 23:46

Using the Devotionals

Each week is designed to help you focus on the 7 final statements of Jesus that he expressed while on the cross. For seven weeks starting on March 3, you will have a daily devotional and exercise that will take you through a variety of spiritual disciplines to help you grow spiritually. Here is what your week will look like:

  • Monday – Main devotional
  • Tuesday – Reading and Listening. (Lectio Divina)
  • Wednesday – Question / Reflection / Application.
  • Thursday – Devotional Prayer Guide.
  • Friday – Reading and Listening. (Lectio Divina)
  • Saturday – Question / Reflection / Application.
  • Sunday – Group Study and Guided Journaling.



2 thoughts on “What Is Seven?

  1. I am a quilter and find inspiration everywhere. While sitting in church this morning, I saw the front of the bulletin with the abstract face of Jesus. This is the same picture you have for “Seven”. I would like to ask permission to use this to create a quilt. The quilt would be for personal use and not for sale. I would enter it into quilt shows for
    judging only. Thank you. Teresa

    1. Hi Teresa! Quilt to your hearts content. I’m glad you were inspired by the image. We would love to see the finished product. Lord bless you! Donnie Hinshaw/Pastor of Haviland Friends

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s